Life Confusion - Advice Appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BleedinBlue2016

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated college about a week ago, and have thereafter entered into a state of life crisis that I am hoping to get out of with some help.
-------
When I entered college at Duke University, I came in with the expectation of fulfilling a pre-med course load; however, the pre-med track at Duke is extremely rigorous and extremely competitive, and I lost faith in myself very quickly even though I was not doing very 'poorly' (I had a mix of A's, A-'s, and maybe 2 B/B+'s in my pre-med requirements).

Instead, I decided to go the business route and went through job recruitment, taking a job as a management consultant with a top company that I will start with this fall. However, while I am excited for the opportunity and think it will be a valuable experience, there is a part of me that feels like I sold out to do something that I am not passionate about simply for the immediate gratification of the job/money. Thinking back, I feel as though I dropped pre-med not because of lack of passion/interest for the field, but because I got caught up in the competition and stress of it all. Consulting is definitely not something I see myself doing long-term, and when I do think about that I am drawn back towards medicine. However, there are a lot of things holding me back. When comparing myself to other pre-meds I know, I feel that I am at a large disadvantage to get into a good medical school. In addition, the huge amount of money it would take is extremely daunting.

I graduated with a Biology major and a minor in Global Health with a 3.7 GPA. I have a widespread reach of extracurriculars, leadership, and lots of lab experience as a research assistant.