Lidocaine necessary for lumbar puncture?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Angry Birds

Angry Troll
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Lidocaine often messes up my landmarks for LP. Everything gets too squishy and I can't repalpalpate as well for spinous processes to make sure I'm dead center. What are your thoughts on Versed +/- Fentanyl and just using the spinal needle without local? Crazy? Cruel?

EDIT: OK everyone has answered unanimously on this one: Yes, it is crazy and cruel not to give Lido.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Use a surgical pen to mark then, or just go where you placed the lidocaine, or just go in blindly and just tap down the vertabrae until you find the space, or use the ultrasound guided approach.

Reactions: 1 users
One of my attendings when I was a second year resident told me getting good anesthetic is half the battle for a successful lumbar puncture. Mark site with a sterile pen then anesthetize and be generous. It really makes a big difference. I don't think giving them iv pain meds works as well and would consider it below average care.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I modestly sedate all my LPs with a touch of fentanyl/versed. Less anxiety = better positioning and better success rates.

So I browse your guys forum out of curiosity and for the purpose of familiarizing myself with common acute acute management scenarios. I'm anesthesia, so take this however you wish.

I 100% would use local, it makes neuraxial intervention much more comfortable and increases patient cooperability imo.

In those thin pts I make a skin wheal then advance my needle thru the wheal and gain tactile feedback of interspinous ligament. I typically inject in multiple passes at different angles to imitate potential changes in spinal/touhy angle of attack.