Lesser common hospitalist schedules like 1 week on, 2 weeks off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tensegrity

Reaction score
My understanding is that 7 on / 7 off is fairly standard in the hospitalist world. How common are different arrangements? Locums included.

I’m a 3rd year medical student, considering different specialties, and interested in more flexibility especially as a new attending.

Members don't see this ad.

I work in a very large hospitalist group and almost all of us are not 7 on/7 off. We have one provider who does the schedule for us so we have to make sacrificial offerings to her every month lol.

Pretty much the only way you can do 1 week off and 2 weeks off is if you are part time probably since there could be months then that you are working only 1 week (if the schedule is based on 4 week blocks) We have several people who are part time so they will work the required number of 9 shifts for part time at one time and then have the rest of the month off

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
My understanding is that 7 on / 7 off is fairly standard in the hospitalist world. How common are different arrangements? Locums included.

I’m a 3rd year medical student, considering different specialties, and interested in more flexibility especially as a new attending.
There may be schedules where you work the same number of shifts but on a different number of days; for example 5 on/5 off. 7on 14 off would be likely considered part time at most places for day shifts, though may be full-time for night shifts. There are places that do 8, 9, or 10 hr shifts, but these will expect you to work more days than doing standard 12-hour shifts.