This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ExCarribeanStudent

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I have recently left a Caribbean school, I was part of it for about 1 and a half years when I realized I hated the Caribbean route and the school also had issues with the government so it wasn't doing too well. My grades were good in my classes, but those credits won't count for me here in college. I left to go to the Caribbeans half-way through my Sophomore semester in University. I did well in my Bio 1 lecture and lab but did bad in my Chemistry 1 general class and my Organic Chemistry 1 class. I am preparing myself to go back to University and retake these courses.

Being in a medical school make me realize that I do love and have a passion for medicine, but if I want to pursue my dream of being a doctor, I will do it the right way, going through the American route. So, I am 20 and will be finishing up my last semester as a Sophomore in college and entering my upper class man years. I am hoping my past experiences can help me in the future, I definitely learned my lesson about studying hard and I am very driven to do well this time around, but I am also scared of if my past will haunt me in future applications or interviews. I want to finish up undergrad career by 24, and am hoping to get my GPA back in a good place and I have started preparing for the MCAT. What are your thoughts about this process I am going through? Do you think it is a wise decision to still aim for medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

were you in Med school or in pre-med program?

Because courses you mention are in Pre-med program not actual medical curriculum.
I took medical courses for the time I was at the med school and of course took premed courses for my college undergrad career