Learning Disabilities?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doggiepoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All! I'm a pre-vet student with a learning disability (it takes me longer to grasp concepts). I am currently doing well in all of my classes but I'm worried that when I get to vet school, I will be overwhelmed and fail out. If anyone here has a learning disability, can you tell me how you manage it and how vet school is going for you? Please feel free to PM me if you don't want to post. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Not me, but I have a friend who is severely dyslexic. She is currently a second year vet student, and while she studies A LOT, she's doing fine - I think probably in the middle of her class. She does receive special accommodations for her disability - at her school, if you have a documented disability, you undergo testing and they make accomodations for you based on the results (this may be true at every school, I don't know). She receives extra time for exams, and if there is an exam with images (first year Histology has slides, which they show twice, with a fixed time limit) she is able to look at them on a computer and go over them as many times as she needs to.

I am dyslexic and have ADD. However, the documentation for my issues was destroyed 3 years ago at my previous undergrad (I am a non trad.)

One thing that helps me a lot is using a computer. I don't take hand written notes, everything is on my laptop and I type (the concept of letter/sounds is fine, it is the visual confusion on some of them that I struggle with) all my notes.

I do struggle with the time requirements of tests. It isn't that I can't answer the questions fast enough, it is that the dyslexia means I make really simple mistakes in reading/interpreting questions. So I may be re-evaluated over the semester break to get some accomodation (different fonts, larger type, perhaps more time.)