Languages for public health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nico0313

Reaction score
Hi all!

I am a freshman in college and I am falling in love with public health! I currently stay in Dallas, but my college is in the Boston area, and I am hoping to either end up in Boston, Dallas, or the Bay Area for an MD/MPH. I love to learn languages, and I am a native Spanish speaker with high proficiency in Portuguese. I am wondering if y'all have any suggestions of a language I should tackle next that would set me up well for healthwork in immigrant communities?

Some thoughts I have currently:
  • Mainly debating between Arabic and Vietnamese. Arabic because many people from MENA are immigrating to the US and I predict this trend will only continue to increase. However, there are large Vietnamese communities in the areas I've listed above and I have a very basic knowledge of the language.
  • With Chinese, I believe there are many doctors who can speak Chinese languages already, and considering the longer time to proficiency given my linguistic background, I feel like I could make a bigger impact by having knowledge of Arabic or Vietnamese.
I would leave to hear y'alls thoughts! I'm trying to get a head start on one language this summer and hopefully take classes next semester, so I'm all ears!

Thanks ;)

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!! I think that ANY language will be an asset, especially since you already know Spanish and Portuguese! I actually came here to suggest French, since it is commonly spoken in so many countries throughout Africa, and being proficient in French is really good if you want to work for the World Health Organization.

However, since you specifically are interested in immigrant health, I think that you should research the immigrant communities in the cities you're interested in living in.