Just how competitive was it this year? and other questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NightOwlPM

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Little background. I am an osteopathic medical student. Psychiatry is the only specialty I am really interested in and the sudden spike of competitiveness has me a bit worried. If I were to get stuck in Internal Medicine or Family Practice I don't think I would be very happy with my career.

1) Just how competitive was it this year and does it appear it will increase much?
2) For Allopathic Psych should I take the USMLE along with the COMPLEX? It is my understanding Osteopathic Psych residencies are few and far between, correct me if I am wrong.
3) I know MD's get preference over DO's for allo residencies. How pronounced is that for Psych?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I'll give you my answers, but I would sugest checking with PDs at programs you are considering:

1) Just how competitive was it this year and does it appear it will increase much?

Very competitive-only 10 unfilled spots across the country. I would expect it to be competitive this year as well.

2) For Allopathic Psych should I take the USMLE along with the COMPLEX? It is my understanding Osteopathic Psych residencies are few and far between, correct me if I am wrong.

Osteopathic psych residencies are indeed limited. At our allopathic program, we accept either COMLEX or USMLE scores for DOs. Most of our DO applicants have just taken the COMLEX.

3) I know MD's get preference over DO's for allo residencies. How pronounced is that for Psych?

I don't know that MDs get preference over DOs. I would challenge that assertion-although it may be true in some areas of the country or in some programs. You can always ask the program whether they have DOs on the faculty or in the residency, or how many they've graduated over the years, in order to get a better sense of that issue.