"I thought this was a free consult"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

randomdoc1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone else ran into this nonsense? For me this feels very pathognomonic for a personality disorder. I mean seriously, you're taking up the time of an NP/MD/DO/PA/PhD/PsyD and it's supposed to be free? It's not any different than if you book at a hospital system. You sign papers about your patient financial responsibility, you get rendered a healthcare service, you pay for said service. We're not trying to sell cars, gizmos, gadgets or anything. Especially when the patient has already signed the papers acknowledging their financial responsibilities. I had an interesting situation where a psychologist, recently completed a post doc, wanted to schedule at this office. She refused to provide us insurance info or why she wanted to establish care. She came in with this "I'm a psychologist and work in this field too. I'd like to set up an in person meeting first. (and she wanted her choice of provider/s)" I don't think any of us would like it very much if someone just wanted to come in person (evening hours no less) for a free visit for who knows how long just to see if they'd feel we'd be a fit.

My other favorite is people contacting and asking for weekend and evening appointments only, must be in person. Maybe I'm old fashioned. Although I'm only in my 30s. But whenever I called a clinic, it did not even register as an expectation for me. I may entertain asking just in case there's a remote chance of that being an option but I was prepared that we're looking at regular business hours M-F. How about you guys?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 9 users
That psychologist is heading for a real successful private practice giving out free in-person consults

The other one seems like a way to delay their own care by coming up with some ridiculous expectations for their appointments