Is toronto dental anesthesia program worthwhile to apply? Are these rumours true?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anesthesiawannabe

Reaction score
Hey, so I'm a third-year dental student here in Canada, and I'm really into the idea of specializing in dental anesthesia. Based on my understanding toronto is the only school in Canada that offers this. I've been hearing some stuff about the program that's making me second-guess whether I should apply or not. I heard that students are always delayed graduation. One person who was supposed to graduate in 2023 but hasn't yet, and nobody seems to know why.There are no students in the class of 2025 and only one person in the class of 2026 because the other student quit. Does anyone know what's the reason for all of this?? I heard the instructors are rude, lack knowledge and has favortism. Is this true? I'm thinking about checking out US programs, but it'd be nice to stay close to home. If anyone has any insights or experiences with the Toronto program, I'd love to hear them. Thanks a bunch!

Members don't see this ad.

Whatever rumor you hear is 10 times less severe than the sad truth. Keep in mind that residents keep silent because they are afraid of retaliation or don't want to get in trouble or just want to graduate in peace.

So Run!

Last edited:
I heard that students are always delayed graduation. One person who was supposed to graduate in 2023 but hasn't yet, and nobody seems to know why.There are no students in the class of 2025 and only one person in the class of 2026 because the other student quit. Does anyone know what's the reason for all of this?? I heard the instructors are rude, lack knowledge and has favortism.
That’s terrible.

If this is true these providers have no place in education.

Residents quitting a program means that the program is malignant, or they are severely lacking in training.