is too late to switch to ortho?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prana24210

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a 4th year medical student, and I have already applied to Radiology, and I'm currently doing a rotation in radiology, and not liking it very much. Primarily because it seems most of the stuff they read is very repetitive, and lacking challenge. Furthermore, it sometimes seems like all their work is inconsequential since it most clinicians, especially surgeons, can look at the study and figure out what the diagnosis is by themselves. I also realized, that as much as I'd want to, I cannot sit in front of a computer screen all day. I'm a definitely more of a doer, than a thinker.

I really miss my surgery rotation. I really enjoyed the OR. When there was some down time, I'd scrub in some ortho/neurosurgery cases, and I really liked a lot of the ortho cases..

Is it too late to start applying for ortho programs? I haven't done any rotations in ortho, and haven't worked with a single orthopedic surgeon for long enough to ask for a letter. At this point, what are my options? What would be the best thing to do?

Thanks in advance for the advice

EDIT: My Step 1 score is around 250, and I have a small publication in Radiology, and some research experience (no pubs) in General Surgery. I have strong letters from a general surgeon, radiologist (chair), and a dermatologist (chair) all saying i'll be a good radiologist.

Members don't see this ad.