Is this normal!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cowperson

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello,
I'm a vet student here in the United States, I can't tell you what year or what school. I am asking other students if the following behavior is normal at your vet schools
My class has had some problems. The most disturbing is the drinking and driving. We've had at least 3 students doing this, with one brazen enough to practically brag about it in class. There are quite a few parties, some thrown by the school on school property and some people leave these inebriated and behind the wheel. One day some of my classmates were drinking in the parking lot at 11 am, and still had more lectures to do in the afternoon. It was definately beer.
One other problem was cheating. We had a couple students providing answers to each other because the test/quiz was staggered in time, and the answers were funneled down the line to the next group. The administration knew it was being done, but couldn't identify any individuals and took no action. They let the grades stand.
Other problems have been a less serious, just a basic lack of respect. Mostly this is cutting in lines, letting doors close, or cell phone use, etcetera

Does anyone else have a class like this? I understand the petty stuff and bickering is normal from reading the other med school groups and stuff, but the drinking/cheating thing gets to me. Does this happen everywhere? Please, any feedback is welcome.
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

hello,
I'm a vet student here in the United States, I can't tell you what year or what school. I am asking other students if the following behavior is normal at your vet schools