This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maybedoctor???

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I need advice. I’m currently a pre med student about to start my junior year of college, but now I’m not so sure I want to become a doctor. I’m interested in disease, but I think I am better suited for research than clinical work.

I am studying biological psychology in school and absolutely love it (especially my neuroscience / psychology focused classes). I also have taken a lot of statistics and research methods classes, which I enjoy a lot and have a real talent for. Now I’m trying to decide what career path I should follow.

I’ve been looking into public health (but admittedly don’t know a whole lot about it) and think I might be good at biostatistics. I really enjoy study design and analysis, but I’m worried that I won’t have much exposure to my other interests in biostats. I love statistics, but I want to combine it with medicine/biology/disease/etc. could I have a job that does this in biostats? Or would I be better off in say epidemiology? Or maybe another area of public health that I could use my psychology background in?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Members don't see this ad.