Is Pharmacy Right for Me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PA_dud3

PA-S1
Moderator Emeritus
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I know this kind of post probably comes up extremely often, so I apologize in advance for anything repetitive I write below.

Currently, I am a High School Senior planning to attend college this fall. Where at, I am not so sure. I am sure I want to go into the medical field, however, my plans have changed a fair bit from what I first anticipated. Originally, I wanted to go into Medicine and become a physician (specializing in Emergency Medicine or Nephrology), however, I have recently begun to consider Pharmacy as a future career path. Some background first, I am a Registered Pharmacy Technician at a local non-chain retail pharmacy. I have been working there since last August and I really, really enjoy what I do as a technician. I plan to take the PTCB this April, as I am not out of HS yet. My time spent in the pharmacy has made me think I should pursue it as a career field. I'm just not certain I would enjoy it as much as I enjoy what I am doing now. So, I guess what I am asking is, what makes you enjoy pharmacy? What is less desirable about it? Are there opportunities for "movement" out of retail? I.E. if someone in retail wanted to go into a hospital setting with some experience under their belt, would it be likely they could do so? Not saying I would want to leave retail, as I like the environment, even though I don't consider myself a huge people-person, it gives me an opportunity to sort of come out of my shell I guess.

Sorry for the rambly post, just trying to discern what is best for me.

Thanks so much for any help and advice you can provide!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,

I know this kind of post probably comes up extremely often, so I apologize in advance for anything repetitive I write below.