Is it time for an SMP/GPA Repair? Poor undergrad performance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RandomChance

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, thanks for taking the time to read this post! I need some advice

Background: I didn’t have the best undergrad performance, cGPA 3.14, sGPA 3.09, MCAT 501 (PSB 124, BB 128, CP 122, CARS 127), and was wondering if you think an SMP would be right for me? My last two semesters show an upward trend as I started to get more serious and realize proper study techniques (3.68 and then a 3.80), and I also joined a lab for undergrad research senior year. I graduated in 2016 and in the two years since my undergrad I decided to work on some EC’s before addressing GPA repair:

Since Graduating: -I’ve been working for a Harvard Medical School/Mass General Hospital lab for one and a half years, during which I’ve had five publications (none of them first author, my highest authorship is third – but they are all in respectable journals like Nature Neuroscience etc. – I will most likely leave the lab with six or seven total if I leave in August), I have a LoR from my PI, he is very well-known in his field (Chaired Harvard Medical School professor, Chief of a division at mgh, vice chair of research, director of a center, etc) – but I don’t know how much/if this is that important.

-Good LoR’s from 3 science professors at my undergrad (one of them also my advisor and the other I conducted undergrad research for of which I presented at our university conference) and one non-science professor (upper level English)

-Worked at a private pharmaceutical company for 6 months before joining my current lab as a quality consultant on clinical trials, but realized that the life of desk work and FDA conferences wasn’t for me (I have the CEO as one of my references though – we got along extremely well).