Medical Is it possible to transfer after second year of medical school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gyngyn

Alta California
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a second year medical student who has been struggling badly with depression this year. I am currently attending a top 40 medical school and really want to transfer to the state medical school in my home state, university of Maryland. I have family in the area and can become a Maryland resident again. I know that being close to family will be a huge help and more than anything my quality of life will improve drastically. I am currently about the middle of the pack grade wise at my current medical school. I had a 518 MCAT and a low undergrad GPA of 3.1 but a 3.8 Masters GPA and a research publication in a solid journal with years of extracurricular and research experiences.
Is there any chance I might be able to transfer? I know that the availability of positions is a critical factor but that’s out of my control.

i would love to transfer to Maryland to be with my family or to Tufts School of Medicine to be with my significant other.
Can anyone give me any advice? Is there any hope for me?
Tufts considers transfers on a "case by case" basis. Their contact for information is: John Matias (617) 636-6571.
Maryland does not consider transfers.

In general, you will need a compelling reason for transfer to a school with a similar year to year curriculum, strong grades (if applicable) and Step 1 score and the support of your Student Affairs Dean.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, it is possible. I transferred medical schools myself.