Is it possible to have a 3.9 gpa?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cruz3r

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a sophomore and my cumulative gpa is 3.81 at 57 credits. Unfortunately, I had a lot of difficult classes this semester, one of them being a 5 credit course (ah physics!) which really sunk my gpa. My grading system is on a 4.0 scale and only does letter grades, like only As (=4.0)or Bs (=3.0), no A+. I can’t figure out the math, but is it still possible to graduate with a 3.9 gpa?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
First of all, like Goro said, a 3.81 will make you competitive anywhere.

But to answer your question, if you want specifically a 3.9, then you would need another 57 credits of a 3.99 GPA. It's possible to get that many credits in 2 years.

The AAMC calculates GPA using +/-s (B = 3.0, B+ = 3.3, A- = 3.7, A = 4.0) so you should calculate your GPA on that scale first.

Kevin W, MCAT Tutor
Med School Tutors

Members don't see this ad :)
3.81 GPA and "it sunk my GPA" shouldn't be in the same sentence. Please relax

• Love
Reactions: 2 users
3.81 is good enough for any school but won’t get you into any school either. Neither will a 4.0. It will come down to MCAT, so just study hard and ace the test.

It would still be possible to get a 3.9 too.

The second year of college is usually the most challenging and the trajectory of many GPA plotted by year is a Nike swoop. Don't sweat it but also consider whether applying after you've earned all your college credits, and therefore having a gap year after college graduation during which your application is under review at med schools might be the way to go.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users
3.81 is good enough for any school but won’t get you into any school either. Neither will a 4.0. It will come down to MCAT, so just study hard and ace the test.

It would still be possible to get a 3.9 too.