is it possible to differentiate air leak vs auto PEEP from graphs only?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ketap

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, i am studying about ventilator waveform..and i want to ask questions:
1. i notice that air leak and auto PEEP have many similar waveform.. is it possible to differentiate between these two only from the waveform?

2. with pressure volume loop, if our patient has an increased resistance..what should happen with the loop?some sources said that the inspiratory limb will be dragged right downward..
but some sources told me that it depends on which part of the loop has the increased resistance.
(ex. if there is increased expiratory resistance, the expiratory limb size should be increased,
but if it is an increased inspiratory resistance, the size of inspiratory limb will be the one who increased..)

i don't really understand this...isn't the resistance of the airway affect both inspiratory and expiratory phase?is there any such thing that cause only increased inspiratory resistance ( and not expiratory) or only expiratory resistance(and not inspiratory)?

please help..thank you

sincerely,Ketap

Members don't see this ad.

hi, i am studying about ventilator waveform..and i want to ask questions:
1. i notice that air leak and auto PEEP have many similar waveform.. is it possible to differentiate between these two only from the waveform?

2. with pressure volume loop, if our patient has an increased resistance..what should happen with the loop?some sources said that the inspiratory limb will be dragged right downward..
but some sources told me that it depends on which part of the loop has the increased resistance.
(ex. if there is increased expiratory resistance, the expiratory limb size should be increased,
but if it is an increased inspiratory resistance, the size of inspiratory limb will be the one who increased..)