Is a Pre-DO student less likely to be a 'gunner' than a Pre-MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MaggieD

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know if this is a perceived difference or not, but I sometimes feel as if those of us who are Pre-DO are a bit less high-strung about things than our Pre-MD colleagues. I am by nature a very non-competitive person; I hate competing and comparing myself to others. I like to think that as a Pre-DO student, I'm turning away from the "gunner" stereotype of a pre-med student. I often browse the Pre-Allo forum and it sometimes seems that people get so caught up in having a GPA of 3.9 and getting into a top 20 school. (Maybe thats just the kind of people that post on the board - not trying to stereotype here). I never feel like I would fit in among them. I don't enjoy research, my academic record is anything but impeccable, and I'm older than most of them.

Does anyone else share this opinion? Has anyone been turned off by the competitiveness of the Pre-Allopathic world? Or is this just all in my head?

Members don't see this ad.

DITTO-
many d.o. students are non-trads and have had another career already and only need to prove things to themselves. that being said, I know many non-gunner md applicants out there too, but they are the exception, not the rule.