iPad Air 2 vs Macbook air

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BankonTrouble

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to sdn. Happy Turkey Hangover Day

Looking for information/recommendations on iPad Air 2 vs Macbook Air.
I've had a Macbook air for 3 years now and am very pleased with it. I've used it for school to do just the basics: web, word processing, presentations, some note taking. I know I'm quite behind in the use of technology for school work.

Yesterday I picked up an iPad Air 2 on sale but have yet to even open it. Since I have only ever used iPads to play games and view pictures I am completely ignorant as to their uses for university students.

What are the advantages of 1 vs the other?
Are there any apps I should look into for the iPad?
Note taking on a Macbook vs iPad?
I'm mostly a pen a paper note taker. Any thoughts on the transition from p/p to digital note taking?
Your thoughts on eBooks vs textbooks?
Do eBooks come with any extra resources/study aids that textbooks don't?
iPad Air 2 vs iPad Pro for students?

Going into the next semester I am really looking for ways to enhance my note taking and ESPECIALLY my study methods. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

PS - I did see that there were some threads on this or similar issues but since they were all over a year old and technology/apps/eBooks and constantly evolving I started a new thread in order to get the most uptodate information possible.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
What are the advantages of 1 vs the other?

This is really impossible to answer because it's very individual-specific. They are very different from one another so it depends on what you're trying to accomplish and what your tastes are. It's like asking if you want General Tso's Chicken or linguine. The answer depends on what you're in the mood for.