Internship/Residency with low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cml156

LMUCVM 2025
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current second year student who feels like they are retaining so much info and loves learning, but is not a great test taker and is showing it via his GPA.

I want to do a rotating SA internship after I graduate in preparations of applying for an Anesthesia and Analgesia residency. I know the speciality is newer than others and there are not many locations that offer residency so it's somewhat competitive in terms of open spots. I am very worried I will not get to follow my dreams of getting into residency due to my GPA holding me back. I don't see myself being happy with being a GP (with no hard feelings toward it, I find GP is one of the harder careers since you are a well rounded person and that intimidates me) and am afraid that it will be what I am stuck with and will not be happy after all the hard work obtaining the degree. Are there any others who feel the same or any current doctors on here that can give any good testimonials or know anyone who was able to overcome a bad GPA and get into residency? Any and all advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.