Internship in the US, foreign student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vetran

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a Vet student from Romania expecting to graduate this summer. My intent would be to do an Internship, either in Europe or USA.

My question is, do I first need an accrediation by AVMA to do an Internship in USA, or can I come, work as an Intern and after that get my accreditation to continue practicing as a vet in the USA ?

Looking forward to hearing your advices !

Members don't see this ad.

My understanding is that if you are doing an internship at a government-run institution (a public veterinary school), then you do not. However, if you are doing an internship in a private practice, then you do.

I could be incorrect but had friends from New Zealand, Australia and Italy with the same issue and that's what they went through.

Contacting someone at the AVMA would be your best bet. Good luck and congratulations on graduation!

My question is, do I first need an accrediation by AVMA to do an Internship in USA, or can I come, work as an Intern and after that get my accreditation to continue practicing as a vet in the USA ?

The AVMA accredits schools, not veterinarians. In the US, the practice of veterinary medicine is under the authority of the individual state. Some states allow you to practice at a teaching hospital without requiring you to have a license. However, other states don't have this exception in which case you have to have a license even at a VTH.

The details regarding what you have to do to get your license depend on whether or not the school you got your degree from is accredited by the AVMA or not. Whether or not you did an internship is usually not a factor.

Members don't see this ad :)