International applicant - What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vennela

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional candidate and planning to apply for year 2013. I am an international and am here on a work visa (came to US on student visa).
I'm currently a University researcher and teacher at a US state university. I've not yet registered for MCAT.

Academic:
I have a Ph.D from US (food safety), M.S from India (biotech), B.S from India (chemistry, botany, zoology majors) and I also will have a graduate certificate in statistics from US (same university where I work) in May.
Overall GPA: Ph.D - 3.89, statistics certificate - 3.7, M.S (73.3%, no GPA info, was top ranker in the department within my university), B.S (73.3%, no GPA info, was top ranker in my college). Please, note i have never taken physics classes as they were not required in my Bachelor's program.
MCAT : Not yet taken!

Service/volunteering:

India:
~200 hours of social service during bachelor's in India (It included volunteering in a medical camp for 7 days in an Indian village, similar volunteer activities, have a national Social Service certificate from Indian government.
US:
~3 hours/month volunteering in a church in US providing home-cooked food to homeless and disabled since Jan 2011.
~held a 4 hr workshop for middle school students in spring 2010 to possibly help them interested in STEM areas, also involved as a
~mentored high school students during summers of 2008, 2009 and 2010 in their 6 week research experience in our university
~help in a project where our project members would go out to tribal colleges in the US state where I live to demonstrate the importance of contibuing education in STEM area

Leadership:
I am currently the acting secretary for a branch of ASM (American Society for Microbiology) (Year 2012-2013)