Intern interested in endo and rheum fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bachow

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am an intern now in a community hospital. Most of my friends told me to decide the subspecialty now so that I can work on my CV. I am interested in endocrinology and rheumatology. Could anyone tell me the pros and cons of each specialty? And is it really true that their salary will stuck at ~$220k ? Thank you
I am aware that in endo most of the pt will be diabetes, and this year the competitiveness of rheum is like heme-onc (according to NRMP statistic). What would be the future of endo and rheum?
And especially for endo community practice, why choose this subspecialty rather than PCP. I think the scope of practice and patients are pretty similar?and even the salary is also quite similar (most of the time diabetes?)

And can anyone give me insight about superfellowship? I have heard about nephro transplant (which is a superfellowship of nephrologist), but have no idea about endo and rheum superfellowship.

Thank you
*edit = have read the post from rokshana about endo, but really want to know any recent changes in the field. thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi, I am an intern now in a community hospital. Most of my friends told me to decide the subspecialty now so that I can work on my CV. I am interested in endocrinology and rheumatology. Could anyone tell me the pros and cons of each specialty? And is it really true that their salary will stuck at ~$220k ? Thank you
I am aware that in endo most of the pt will be diabetes, and this year the competitiveness of rheum is like heme-onc (according to NRMP statistic). What would be the future of endo and rheum?