Interesting and Humbling Question About a Prerequisite Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wuweiismyway

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a problem: some DPT programs to which I am applying require Intro to Psychology and require that all prerequisites have been taken within 5-7 years of matriculation. I graduated with my B.A. in 2010, and my major was psychology. I took my Intro to Psych course in the Fall of 2006, obviously too long ago to meet the 5/7 year requirements of some DPT programs. All other prereq's I either took in 2010 or have taken in the past year as a non-degree student, but I have a dilemma about the Intro to Psych requirement.

Will programs declare me ineligible if my intro to psych is too old, even though in 2009/2010 I took several upper-level psych courses? I need to decide within the next two days, because of the deadline that I have in order to pay the tuition for an intro to psych course. Of course, if I don't need to take the course, then I would be happy to save the money. Then again, my intro to psych grade was a C, so retaking it would give a nice boost to my prereq GPA.

Members don't see this ad.

You can try contacting the each program you plan to apply to, but I agree that you will have to retake the course.

I have always wondered how programs look at this 5 year limit, seeing as a generally Bachelors degree takes 4 years. If you take a PreReq your first year of school, then apply to the program a year after you graduate, it's already been 5 years. I wonder if the look at the year you obtained your degree instead.

Members don't see this ad :)
I forgot to mention -- I have repeatedly called and emailed the programs in question and they have yet to respond -- only voicemails and unanswered emails.

What schools are you applying to?

Why do you call this an "interesting and humbling question?"