Interested in pursuing Radiology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hoofstock

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current fourth year vet student currently on clinical rotations. Only in the last month have I decided to seriously consider a residency in radiology or possibly surgery. I know both are very competitive and I’m pretty scared right now at having decided so late that this is a possibility of what I want to do. I’m trying to find more information on which residencies have grade cut offs but I’ve been finding that this information could be really hard to find. I know it can be different for every program, but does someone have information on where I can find grade cut offs and other requirements for applying to specific residencies?

I never focused on strengthening my application for residency during vet school, because I didn’t think this was an option I would choose. I feel like I’d be a pretty average candidate, unless I decided to write a case report or some thing during my fourth year and got good recommendation letters.

Members don't see this ad.

Any official requirements should be on the VIRMP listing for each program. I can’t speak specifically for radiology because I’m in a different specialty, but I’d bet that most places that weed people out based upon GPA don’t have a formal cutoff, it’s just more of an unofficial one they don’t publicize. At this point you can’t significantly change your GPA, so I’d focus on radiology experience and developing relationships with radiologists because you’re going to need excellent letters of rec and demonstrated interest in the field, especially if your GPA is on the lower side. Plan to do a rotating and/or radiology specific internship to develop those relationships if needed.