Interested in MSTP - Should I Upgrade My Undergrad Institution? (junior transfer)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted826437

Hello all,

I am currently a sophomore at a low tier, directional university. I am aware that undergrad institution is not particularly relevant for MD apps, but I have heard that is is NOT the case for PhD programs and maybe MSTP programs as well. Now, I do not personally feel that I am getting a significantly inferior education at my no-name school, when compared to my state flagship, but if the lack of undergrad cred is going to impact my MSTP prospects, I want to seriously consider transferring to a top 20-50 uni.

At my current uni, I have a 3.8 gpa going into the spring semester of my sophomore year, and I have developed 2 strong relationships with professors ( 1) my PI 2) honors college director/prof ). I have been a lab since last January, and have been researching ~25 hrs/wk since then. I will be presenting my research at a state and a national level conference this semester with a possible pub by July. **If I remain at my current uni, I will have an opportunity to spend a semester researching at a very prestigious research institution / hospital in my area.

So, with all this in mind, considering where I am at now, and where I want to go, what do you suggest that I do? If I can earn a 3.85-3.9 gpa at my no name school, score a 35+ MCAT, and build on my research opps, will the name hold me back?

Note: if I do transfer, I am not opposed to taking a gap year in order to buy my self more time to build new relationships/get involved in new research.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Name doesn’t hold u back. A high Gpa might seem less meaningful if u go to a low tier undergrad but u can support that with a high mcat ofc