Insurance Credentialing Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mittendork

Reaction score
I am a new grad and just got my first job! I am hired as an employee at a retail location and I am trying to figure out this whole insurance thing and I am admittedly very naïve. I have my NPI number.

1) Does being an employee mean that insurance is processed through my hiring OD's credentials which is why I don't have to be credentialed at time of hiring? I am confused about the logistics of how this works and an ELI5 explanation would be appreciated.
2) What benefit is there to the employer and myself if I have my own credentials as an employee? (Hiring OD wants me to eventually be credentialed with a couple of companies)
3) I've read that applying for CAHQ is the way to go for easy credentialing - do any of you have experience with this?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a new grad and just got my first job! I am hired as an employee at a retail location and I am trying to figure out this whole insurance thing and I am admittedly very naïve. I have my NPI number.

1) Does being an employee mean that insurance is processed through my hiring OD's credentials which is why I don't have to be credentialed at time of hiring? I am confused about the logistics of how this works and an ELI5 explanation would be appreciated.
2) What benefit is there to the employer and myself if I have my own credentials as an employee? (Hiring OD wants me to eventually be credentialed with a couple of companies)
3) I've read that applying for CAHQ is the way to go for easy credentialing - do any of you have experience with this?