IMPORTANT J-1 visa issues for Canadians wanting to practice in US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EdmontonOilers

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

As I’ve said before in previous posts, I am a Canadian Irish medical student at UCD in my second year.

I have recently begun researching the possibility of doing a residency in the US on a J-1 visa after my degree. It seems like everyone from Irish schools is going on the J-1 visa instead of the H-1B because you have to take an extra year to write the USMLE step 3 to get an H-1B visa. The other thing problem with the H1-B is that only a very limited amount of residency programs will sponsor IMGs on the H1-B visa because it is an expensive and time consuming process for the residency program. I don’t want to work really hard in my degree for a visa that I may not get so it sounds to me like the J-1 is the best option for a Canadian IMG.