IMG (SGU) transfer to US school or drop out?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
J

jayw288

I have a pretty long back story, but the gist of my question is this: I'm currently an IMG (St. George's) debating dropping out and returning to the US and either applying to a US medical school if possible or doing a masters program and possibly attempting medical school later.

So I'm currently a student at St. George's in Grenada....and absolutley hate it. I started in January of this year (2016) so I'm in the middle of my 2nd term. How I got here, and I know I'll probably get flak for going this route because I've made my future more difficult. My wife and I are both medical students at SGU. She finished undergrad before me because I spent time in the military, so she started applying to medical school first. Anyways, she sent out a round of medical school applications in the states and didn't get in. Fast forward another year, another round of applications, same result, except she did get in to SGU. Here's my stupid decision. I said we could go wherever she wanted, and I would follow. Maybe out of cockiness, I figured I could do anything I want, regardless of where I went to school. She started in August of 2015, so she's just starting her MS2. I applied to SGU last fall and got in, stating January 2016.

(Ranting about how much I dislike SGU)