I'm an international student studying in the UK. Can I stay after graduation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tully

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the title says. I'm a non-EU international student and will be graduating from a UK medical school in 2016. I know that I'm allowed to stay in the UK for F1 and F2 training. However I'm not sure what happens after that - will I be deported? How easy is it for a non-UK passport holder to be granted a work visa?

I would very much like to remain in the UK (and practice as a doctor) and would be grateful if anyone could shed some light on this matter. Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
As the title says. I'm a non-EU international student and will be graduating from a UK medical school in 2016. I know that I'm allowed to stay in the UK for F1 and F2 training. However I'm not sure what happens after that - will I be deported? How easy is it for a non-UK passport holder to be granted a work visa?

I would very much like to remain in the UK (and practice as a doctor) and would be grateful if anyone could shed some light on this matter. Thanks :)

They changed the rules on April 2012...you won't be kicked out as long as you graduated from a UK medical school. You can apply for specialty posts and compete with the EU nationals :D

http://www.mmc.nhs.uk/specialty_tra...pplicants/guidance_for_overseas_applican.aspx

Members don't see this ad :)
That is actually a fantastic thing. Maybe ill apply to UK instead of Ireland next year

What about if you complete UK veterinary school?

Will you be given equal consideration to EU nationals AFTER you complete the foundation years, though?

Yes, you are given equal consideration throughout the entire process both for foundation and specialty

Reactions: 1 users