I want to be an optometrist...is it too late to start over?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pisces85

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last year with a 2.79 GPA in Psychology. I've took several sciences class but got a C or below in them =[ I've always wanted to pursue a career in optometry but I messed up by not taking college seriously. I've worked in the psychology field as a behavioral therapist for a few years and I've tried to convince myself that I could grow to like this field, however in the back of my mind I'm still thinking about going to optometry school.

Few months back I applied for a job as a therapist and coincidently it was at an optometrist's office who is also a FCOVD. I do vision therapy and other therapies to enhance sensory cognitive motor skills. I really enjoy working here and now I want to go into behavioral optometry.

So my questions is...do I stand a chance? Am I being realistic by thinking that I could get into an optometry school by taking all my prerequisites at a junior college and hoping that I can back it up w/ a lot of work experience? Can I even start over? Or do you think I should stop dreaming and just get my Masters in Psychology and maybe after that I'll find a job that I can learn to like?

I'm so confused. I don't want to pursue something that's a dead end. I can't afford to mess up again.

ANY HELP AND ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED

Members don't see this ad.

I think it depends on how badly you want to go into optometry and how much you are willing to put into it.
To get to optometry school from where you're at now would be possible... you have a unique background with your psychology training, and that shouldn't work against you.