I Need Your Help (new guy)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GLW102

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had been directed to this forum by an adviser and classmate. I'm currently in my second semester here at the Texas A&M Health Science Center (medical school) in College Station, TX and am enjoying the arduous life that is a preclinicial education. Anyway, I am very passionate and focused about becoming a plastic surgeon, but my school's very 'primary care focused' and doesn't like answering questions about this specialty, so I was wondering if all or some of you could answer a few questions and give me your insights/experience/advice. I appreciate anything of that matter. My email's [email protected] (MAN that's long!) but feel free to respond here, too.

1. Is it better to apply to a plastic surgery residency directly out of medical school, or to go through a general surgery/orthopedic surgery residency first and THEN apply for plastic surgery?
2. What should my class rank, USMLE score, and general other statistics be to be competetive?
3. Where can I find a listing of all the plastic surgery residency programs available so as to start communicating with them? And should I do that?
4. What should I do to make myself a more competetive applicant with regards to rotations, auditions, and research?
5. What kind of research could I do during this summer between 1st and 2nd year to increase my portfolio?
6. Do any of you know anyone in my area of Texas who is a practicing plastic surgeon who I could contact to establish a connection with someone already in the field? If not, how should I go about doing that?
7. What other general advice would you give me with regards to preparing myself and making myself more competetive for a good plastic surgery residency program?