This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What to do if I don't get into US MD/DO schools?

• Caribbean MD (CA-approved)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

ItsaBenzThing

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey SDN, I am currently a 3rd year undergraduate. My sGPA so far is 3.14. My cGPA is 3.23. I am going to take the MCAT in 2017. Are there any US MD/DO schools that I have a chance at getting into? If so, that is my "Plan A". If that doesn't work out, should I find a linkage program to a US MD/DO school or am I better off applying to the CA-approved Caribbean medical schools? As far as ECs and volunteering, I have shadowed a few physicians and one PA. I have around 120 hours in the hospital (going to have a lot more when I apply) and I am a part of a shadowing club at my campus. I have been going crazy with all the Googling (added stress) and decided to ask my question here. All help is appreciated.

EDIT: I am a biology major as well

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I have been going crazy with all the Googling (added stress) and decided to ask my question here.

You clearly didn't go crazy with the search function on SDN, because Caribbean schools are discussed (severely recommended against) every few days here. Find any of the hundreds of threads about them and you'll have your answer to that part.

Also, are you Canadian? Just guessing from you saying '3rd year' instead of 'junior'.

Reactions: 1 user
Your GPAs are lethal for all MD schools, and merely OK for DO schools. You'd be auto-rejected at mine, AZCOM, the coastal Touros, BCOM, CUSOM, KCU, and CCOM.

And to save you some time, google these:

https://milliondollarmistake.wordpress.com/

http://www.tameersiddiqui.com/medical-school-at-sgu