I need help: when to apply for a UK reseidency spot..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gattasultetto

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! My name is Sere, I'm a last year medical student in Milan (Italy). I'm trying to find as much information as possible on UK medical training. I'm interested in a surgical residency and I'd like to know how hard is it for a foreign graduate to find a spot in general surgery. My DREAM is to become a trauma surgeon and there is no such fellowship in Italy. That's why I'd like to move to the UK, and I'd like to do it now, because honestly surgical training in italy is very poor. I have some difficulties understanding UK medical system. Can you help me? Will it be easier:
1) Start searching for a F2 (second year foundation programme) position and then apply for a general surgery residency?
2) Start residency in another country and then try to move to the UK after my first year of surgical residency? Will it be impossible?

PLEASE HELP. :confused: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi! My name is Sere, I'm a last year medical student in Milan (Italy). I'm trying to find as much information as possible on UK medical training. I'm interested in a surgical residency and I'd like to know how hard is it for a foreign graduate to find a spot in general surgery. My DREAM is to become a trauma surgeon and there is no such fellowship in Italy. That's why I'd like to move to the UK, and I'd like to do it now, because honestly surgical training in italy is very poor. I have some difficulties understanding UK medical system. Can you help me? Will it be easier:
1) Start searching for a F2 (second year foundation programme) position and then apply for a general surgery residency?
2) Start residency in another country and then try to move to the UK after my first year of surgical residency? Will it be impossible?