I need a miracle... But it is happening !

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctr1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

IMG 2012,
Step 1 = 220
Step 2 CK= 231
CS= pass
Research fellowship = 2 years in one of the top pediatrics hospitals in the US, with 10+ publications+abstracts+oral presentations in the pediatric subspecialty of my interest.

I failed to match last year, and I think it is because of my step 1 score and the lack of clinical experience in the US. I am not trying to look for an excuse for my scores but I had to rush them while I was a resident back home in order to join the research fellowship. I had a very extensive US clinical experience this year supported by very solid and strong LORs from assistant professors (pediatricians) during my research fellowship.

I only had 2 IVs this year, and was very lucky to get an interview from a place I interviewed in last year, I was lucky because I loved that place and ranked them number 1 last year, and because I have a second chance now!

I knew I would need a miracle to match this year, I see a chance now and I do not want to blow it up, I did extremely well in my research fellowship and do not want average step scores to prevent me from matching simply because I believe that I excelled in everything else!. Should I bring the subject of steps scores to the program director? I really do not know what I should do different this time during the interview.

Members don't see this ad.