I know this isn't an exact science...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WhoisJohnGalt

NYC Psychiatrist
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
But how many programs (roughly) do you think I should apply to? I'm a US grad, totally average USMLE scores (224 - step 1, 226 - step 2), slightly below average GPA, expecting good letters. What's a reasonable number of psych programs to apply to so that I can avoid scrambling?

Members don't see this ad.

Depends partly on which programs you select, but 10-15 is reasonable. You'll be competitive at most places you apply to, and if you rank 8-10 you're very likely to match.

But how many programs (roughly) do you think I should apply to? I'm a US grad, totally average USMLE scores (224 - step 1, 226 - step 2), slightly below average GPA, expecting good letters. What's a reasonable number of psych programs to apply to so that I can avoid scrambling?

1) 225 on step 1 is not "totally average"....it is about 10 pts above average, which is not insignificant.

2) it depends on where you are applying. If you *need* to be in the la or san fran area, that answer is going to be different than if you want to be in the oklahoma/texas/kansas/etc area.......

You're going to get interviews at most places you apply though.

Members don't see this ad :)
1) 225 on step 1 is not "totally average"....it is about 10 pts above average, which is not insignificant.

2) it depends on where you are applying. If you *need* to be in the la or san fran area, that answer is going to be different than if you want to be in the oklahoma/texas/kansas/etc area.......

222 was the national average for Step 1 this year, so they were likely comparing themselves to all med students, not just psych applicants.

222 was the national average for Step 1 this year, so they were likely comparing themselves to all med students, not just psych applicants.