I have a list of out-of-state programs. Are my credentials competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wanderingPT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am applying to UF, UCF, UNC-Chapel Hill, MUSC, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Cal State-Sacramento. Obviously none of these are "easy" options. I live in Georgia, but don't have any desire to go to a school in-state, except for Emory or Mercer, but I'm trying to stay away from private institutions for cost purposes. I also qualify for in-state in Florida with Florida pre-paid. Obviously, I am anxious about this application process as it is my first time around and am curious how competitive I can be with my credentials. Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

GPA: Cumulative- 3.49
Pre-req: Unsure official

GRE:
Verbal- 154
Quant-153
Writing-4.0

Experience:
75 hours in sports outpatient
500+ hours orthopedic outpatient (I'm a technician)

I don't know how weighted extra-curriculars are, but I was a college athlete as well as being involved in 2 honor societies and an exercise science club on campus.

Members don't see this ad.

How does your GPA and GRE compare with each school? Public schools tend to favor in-state students, so you'll need to be above average to be competitive at those schools.

Also, the pre req GPA is crucial....I would sit down and figure that out by hand so you know where you stand.

Members don't see this ad :)
How does your GPA and GRE compare with each school? Public schools tend to favor in-state students, so you'll need to be above average to be competitive at those schools.

My GRE is right around the average of the accepted students according to PTCAS and each program's respective site. My GPA is in the same category from as far as I can tell.

Also, the pre req GPA is crucial....I would sit down and figure that out by hand so you know where you stand.