I failed the oral boards again :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Patron

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How many times can I take it?

Members don't see this ad.

Sevoflorane thank you for your kind support. I studied very very hard for it , I thought I did good on the exam but I was shocked with the result. I did practice and always got excellent feedback from Ho examiners and my coworkers. It was huge disappointment but not the end.

Members don't see this ad :)
Unless they changed the rules within past 5-6 years.

U have 3 shots at oral boards.

If u fail orals 3 times. U lose your board eligibility. And either have to do one year of training again OR (and this is path 99% of people take). They continue as attending but have to sit and pass the in training exam.

Once they pass the in training exam. They must than pass the written exam again. Before taking the oral exams.

I know one person who had to repeat these steps. It's painful. But in the end they got board certified in 2008. They had failed their orals 3 times. Last time was in 2005.

Took in training exam in 2006. Passed it. Pass writtens again in 2007. Than finally passed the orals in 2008.

Good luck Patron.

Unless they changed the rules within past 5-6 years.

If u fail orals 3 times. U lose your board eligibility. And either have to do one year of training again OR (and this is path 99% of people take). They continue as attending but have to sit and pass the in training exam.

Once they pass the in training exam. They must than pass the written exam again. Before taking the oral exams.

I know one person who had to repeat these steps. It's painful. But in the end they got board certified in 2008. They had failed their orals 3 times. Last time was in 2005.

Took in training exam in 2006. Passed it. Pass writtens again in 2007. Than finally passed the orals in 2008.