I can't decide whether or not I should apply...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bowlesman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been stalling on my application because the more I think about it, the more I am doubting my chances of getting into medical school.

Here's my situation:
So first of all, I am applying to the MD/PhD program, NOT just the MD program.
I decided 8 months ago to forgo a PhD and to go for the joint degree
I took my MCAT in April and got a 36O

The reason why I'm having second thoughts is because I've realized that now that I am pre-med, there are certain things that I didn't do or that I don't have that could be essential to matriculating.

So I'll start off with the good stuff first. I have a pretty high GPA (3.95) at a notoriously competitive public university. I graduated with 2 awards. One for research and another award for essentially graduating #2 out of the 400+ students in my major (biology). I have done several extracurriculars pertaining to mentoring/advising as well as tutoring/teaching at the high school and collegiate level. I think I can get very good letter of recommendations from my science professors and PIs.