i am an active duty dentist, ask questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TobyKeithFan

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm an AD Army general dentist, if you have any questions or concerns please ask.

I am not a recruiter, DENCOM nor OTSG staffer.

I will tell you about my experiences (mostly bad, but some good).

I will remain as anonymous as possible.

Don't ask me anything that will give away my identity.

I am sure someone in San Antonio is watching.

I look forward to answering your questions.

Toby Keith Rules!

Members don't see this ad.

i think the thread for this is called "ask an army dentist".

im just sayin'...

Members don't see this ad :)
Dr. TobyKeith,

Thanks for signing up here. I'm sure all of us, dental students, dentists in the military and in private practice will benefit from another AD dentist on this board.

I will be sure to shoot you some questions via PM if I do have any that come up.

Thanks for your service.

Did you do a residency?

What is so bad about it?

probably the worst part is lack of vertical growth.

i do exams, sick call, restorative, simple OS, and RCT. no chance to do fixed nor removable work. granted there are many doing prostho but there are also many that are not. i worry about when i get out.

from my experience, as a 63A one year aegd training or not, you don't have much say about what you get to do. it depends on the clinic's mission and the OIC's comfort level or work ethic.

at my post, we have AIT students, so we can't do anything that requires time. as mentioned above, i do their exams, sick call (mostly pulpectomies), and large excavations. all other routine work (oper, OS, RCT, prostho) for permanent party and students we refer off-post. this is our mission.

i hoping for a more challenging assignment next time.