How's DO match been last 2 cycles?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scoopdaboop

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Seems like in 2020 do match was awesome, 2021 a different story, maybe ~ 70 percent match. I'm curious what 2022 is like. I'm likely applying rads next year, a 230 DO student, no research, some fillers like volunteering etc, will I match?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Assuming you had a decent class rank, i'd expect you to match if you applied broadly enough. Might even get academic program in the midwest or south.

Reactions: 1 user
Assuming you had a decent class rank, i'd expect you to match if you applied broadly enough. Might even get academic program in the midwest or south.
I am a second year medical student, by the time time I take step 2 ck will be the only important objective metric. Why is there not a variance between step 2 ck scores like there is for step 1. For example, the difference between diagnostic radiology and pediatrics is few points while for step 1 it was almost 20 points?
Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Probably because Step 2CK hasn't been the metric of interest for long enough yet. Back when I was involved in resident recruitment (within the last 5 years) it was mostly irrelevant. Some people hadn't even taken it by the time they interviewed and for others there was a large range of what was acceptable.

I.e. if someone hit the ballpark 240 step 1 score, a 235 or a 260 step 2 CK didn't really move the needle for me.

I suspect over time a ballpark step 2ck score will be established and the variance around that significantly tightened.