How to pinch every cent in medical school? Whats your secret?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Siverhideo1985

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am preparing to start my first year of medical school and as I will be attending a very expensive private school I was wondering if you guys have secret tips on how to safe money. I am just getting into this topic and would appreciate any resources, etc. you might have to offer.

Of course, I am thinking about budgeting, using my savings, looking for good deals on loans and scholarships. But any tips from current medical school students would be much appreciated. I am especially interested in how you guys cut down on every day costs. Maybe I should just live on cup o' noodles and tap water for the next decade or so?

Thanks in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I go with Top Ramen, but you've got the right idea. There are a few simple things I do to save every penny:

1. NEVER buy coffee on campus
2. NEVER buy lunch on campus
3. NEVER pay for getting to school (students here get free bus passes)
4. restrict myself to eating out once per week
5. food stamps

There you go. The first couple alone will save you hundreds in a year, no joke. I see people get McDonalds every day or coffee and a muffin. Well, $5 per day x 5 days per week x 35 weeks or whatever = $$$$.

I go with Top Ramen, but you've got the right idea. There are a few simple things I do to save every penny:

5. food stamps

There you go. The first couple alone will save you hundreds in a year, no joke. I see people get McDonalds every day or coffee and a muffin. Well, $5 per day x 5 days per week x 35 weeks or whatever = $$$$.

I do 1 and 2, but really I don't feel like living like a hermit.

Members don't see this ad :)

5. food stamps

We can get food stamps? serious?

Thanks for these tips! Keep em coming!