How to get research experience when I need post bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mriyain

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am considering the DO career path. I was pre-dental for the longest time but after much shadowing decided that I couldn't focus on the mouth for my whole life/career and I wanted to be able to connect with patients much more. I'm still shadowing DO's, so nothing's set in stone.

Anyway, dental schools don't really care about research on applications, so I never considered doing it in undergrad. Additionally, I messed up a lot with my science grades the first 2 years of undergrad (just a lot of personal life problems in addition to not knowing how to study honestly) so even if I did apply to research positions I wouldn't have gotten them with my transcript. I'm only a junior in undergrad so I may have the chance to do it my senior year, especially with good science grades on my junior year transcript. However, I might not have time for it because of the course load I'll have.

I absolutely will have to do some sort of post bacc program to replace all of my C's, and I know there are so many people on this site who have had to do the same. My questions to y'all is how did you get research experience if you did? Like, is it possible to get research experience while you do a post-bacc program for example? Additionally, how much does research experience matter for DO schools?

I hope my questions make sense! And I'm sorry if this seems unnecessarily long, I just don't know how much y'all need to know about me to answer questions like this! And I'm new to this site so I'm sorry if there's like a massive thread about this that I've never seen.

Members don't see this ad.

Get good grades in post bac, get good grade in MCAT, get relevant healthcare experience, get acceptance call.