How to get dhal thats thick?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HistoRocks

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Pardon my ignorance... I am new to the cooking experience. Exactly how do I get the dhal gravy to be thick? Do I use ghee? Coconut milk? And if so... do I add these things before or after the dhal is cooked? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

HistoRocks said:
Pardon my ignorance... I am new to the cooking experience. Exactly how do I get the dhal gravy to be thick? Do I use ghee? Coconut milk? And if so... do I add these things before or after the dhal is cooked? Thanks.
I think there is a different dahl for that.

use less water in cooking, so your dahl will be thicker!

Other idea that some cheap restaurants use is-- add some tissue paper paste! :p

Members don't see this ad :)
HistoRocks said:
depends on the daal......
boil it in cooker...so that its soft......drain water....
in a pan....add...butter.. sour cream......cumin seeds.....onions......aamchoor.....anaaadana.....ginger garlic paste......and whatever u feel like.......fry well.......add daal to this.......u will get a perfect punjabi daal.....thick.....daal makni..

meetlife said:
in a pan....add...butter.. sour cream......cumin seeds.....onions......aamchoor.....anaaadana.....ginger garlic paste......and whatever u feel like.......fry well.......add daal to this.......u will get a perfect punjabi daal.....thick.....daal makni..
sour cream and dahl really?

I never heard of sour cream in daal before.

sunny123 said:
why haven't us canadians heard of this thing? :laugh:

data said:
why haven't us canadians heard of this thing? :laugh:
This must be a new desi invention that has taken some time to cross to our waters :laugh: .

sunny123 said:
This must be a new desi invention that has taken some time to cross to our waters :laugh: .