How passionate are you about the organ system you operate on?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zombietrainer1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a third-year medical student trying to finalize my specialty choice. I've been pursuing neurosurgery for a couple of years now, mostly out of a profound interest in the brain. I didn't feel like I was interested much in the subject matter of other surgical specialties, and didn't explore them very much. Now that I've completed my clinical rotations in them, I've realized that there are many aspects of neurosurgery that I don't enjoy nearly as much as I thought I would; for example: spinal surgeries (and the fact that they often make up 50-70% of all cases for most neurosurgeons), the sheer length of some surgeries (routinely 5+ hours, up to 12+ hours), generally poor outcomes, the intense personalities, etc.

In sharp contrast, I enjoyed my time on general surgery a lot more than I thought I would. I meshed well with both staff and residents, really enjoyed the pace and the procedures, loved the thought of getting good at laparoscopic surgeries, enjoyed that many (most?) of our patients had great outcomes, and appreciated that the staff surgeons had enough time to pursue a reasonable life outside of the hospital (unlike in neuro surg). I also like the idea of trauma surgery, although I haven't had a chance to explore it yet.