How often are podiatrist on call?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BenPRunkle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How often are podiatrists on call compared to other doctors such as orthopods or general surgeons?

Members don't see this ad.

How often are podiatrists on call compared to other doctors such as orthopods or general surgeons?

Our call is nothing like Ortho or general surgery. Call is as much as you make it and depends on the type of practice you're in.

If 'you're in a group practice you may cover for your partners. I'm a busy surgeon, but don't have much actual call, because there is an Ortho Trauma team at the hospital I work mostly out of, so trauma generally doesn't come my way through the ED. I do get called for inhouse coverage, but its not the "call" you are talking about.

It really depends. Some of my colleagues that don't do much surgery never have traditional call except for their post op calls for pain meds.

Then again, some who are involved in trauma untis/ortho groups or involved in big hospital systems or multi specialty groups do have to cover ED call and such.

No matter what though, if you do surgery at all, you will have calls from your patients for all sorts of post op issues and may need to admit patients either primarily or through the ED and then "call" is inevitable.

Hope that helps.

Members don't see this ad :)
How many hours a week does a podiatrist typically work?

There is no answer to that question. You can work as many or as few hours as you want, and if your practice isn't busy, you may not need to work many hours. If you have a busy practice it may dictate that you work a lot of hours.