Considering Podiatry as a Child of a Podiatrist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Undecided2003

Reaction score
I'm currently a undergraduate student and am deciding between becoming a podiatrist vs. a physician. I have a lot of insight into Podiatry due to my father being a respected podiatrist in the community with his own practice. I have shadowed both him and a family medicine physician, and enjoy his job more due to the hands on aspect. My older sibling is currently in podiatry school and may take over his practice. If I become a podiatrist also, we would most likely become partners.

I know that there is a lot of doom and gloom about this profession (based on what I've read on SDN), but I've spoken to my father in depth about this field. He enjoys his profession greatly and works great hours. He also knows many other colleagues that also has this viewpoint. I'm just wondering if it seems unwise to choose Podiatry over DO/MD (considering if I can even get in).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Take everything on SDN with a grain of salt as it'll be the ones wanting change to be the ones creating the most noise too, evident by the consistency of the same handful of posters. You have shadowed both careers and have identified what you like better, have a father's viewpoints, and an older brother who will be going through the process to give you insight as well so it's upto you to decide. No one can ever definitively say what the right choice is besides you weighing all the options and what your passion is for. Reminder you will be the one waking up to that alarm clock every morning so find something you enjoy and will be content with rather than the opinions of anonymous posters influencing you a certain direction. Medicine has a strong grass is greener phenomenon and each specialty has threads showing up wishing they chose that over this.. etc.