How good are Caribbean medical schools compared to US med schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

driventobeadoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone give me anykind of information about the schools and the standard of medical school education in the caribbean. Studying outside united states, will it affect the matching for residency.....any info is appreciated. I am thinking about caribbean med schools as i am an international student residing in US. For foreign students, getting into medical schools in US is very tough as the schools require citizen ship or permanent residency.

Please give me any info abt caribbean schools and if possible the best schools to apply and things to look for in the schools.

Thank you for your time

Members don't see this ad.

Can anyone give me anykind of information about the schools and the standard of medical school education in the caribbean. Studying outside united states, will it affect the matching for residency.....any info is appreciated. I am thinking about caribbean med schools as i am an international student residing in US. For foreign students, getting into medical schools in US is very tough as the schools require citizen ship or permanent residency.

Please give me any info abt caribbean schools and if possible the best schools to apply and things to look for in the schools.

Thank you for your time

Generally speaking, the first two years of medical school are self-study. Since most Carribean medical schools send their students to hospitals in the United States for clinical rotations, I don't see how it matters where you go to medical school unless you think you get better clinical training at one particular hospital over another.

And I don't think it's true that you get better clinical training at a prestigious academic medical center than at somewhere less well known.