How/etiquettes to shadow a PT? Where in Bay Area?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flyingsquirrel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, Is there a formal or proper way to go about shadowing a Physical Therapist?

Do you just call them and ask if there are any shadowing opportunities available?

What are some etiquette during shadowing?

Where are some good places to shadow in the Bay Area to see a wide variety of different kinds of Physical Therapy?

-Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I pretty much went through the phone book and made a big long list of nearby places I was interested in going to. I introduced myself over the phone, said that I'm a pre-PT student looking to observe/volunteer and asked if that would be an option. The receptionist will usually leave you hanging for a few days while they check with the therapist, so give them a call back after a week or something if they haven't gotten back to you. For larger facilities, such as hospitals, they probably have a volunteer coordinator of some sort. I would probably contact them first before contacting the PT director. You'll most likely have to show proof of your immunizations, go through an orientation of some sort (bio hazardous materials, emergency codes, etc).

Members don't see this ad :)
A great place to get started is in an acute in-patient (hospital) setting. A lot of the programs you will be applying to actually require you to have observation hours from a setting such as this. For instance (samuel merit, Csu fresno, UCSF and UoP) require 50 to 100 hours. Not only do they require this specific venue, you'll be able to see a wide variety of cases from amputations, post surgery, wound care, and a lot more. You should also get some experience in the out patient world as well, though a little more boring IMO.