How do you deal with psych/ETOH/etc patients?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fiznat

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I just finished a shift tonight that consisted of mostly 911 psych and ETOH calls. ...Had a ton of combative and generally disagreeable/uncooperative patients that really pushed my buttons tonight. I was thinking the whole time about the best way to really approach these kinds of patients. I've been working in an inner city EMS system (as an EMT) for about 2 years now, and I still haven’t quite mastered the technique.

It seems like there are a few different approaches. There is the kind and understanding approach, where slow talking and an unassuming posture can win the day with logic. ...And there is the rough "do what I say now or I will call the police, don’t mess with me" technique. It seems that most uncooperative patients require a little bit from each side, but I am interested to find out from you guys how you like to modulate those two urges. At first it seems like it is always best to speak slowly, but with a lot of patients that means that they will either walk all over you, or you will be on scene for hours on end. Likewise the rougher approach can agitate a patient even further and make the situation much worse.

I know there are no clear answers, but I would like to hear from you guys how you tend to approach these patients and under what circumstances. What works for you?

Members don't see this ad.

For non-combative patients:
I just talk in a calm and non-threatening manner. The course in negotiation tactics has come in handy a couple of times in getting psych patients to do what I want them to do.

For violently combative patients: